February Goals Review / New March Goals

Happy March! Is Spring here yet?
Despite it being cold, February was a good month for goals. 🙂

2014 Goals--February

February Goals

1) Finalize and follow a budget plan

I actually do have a way to budget now. I have a dollar amount that I won’t to succeed for the semester which averages to a certain mount every week. I have a spreadsheet and enter my receipts on it. I’ve set it up to calculate how much I’ve spent so far. Not going to lie. It’s almost Spring Break and I’m more than halfway to my dollar amount. It’s not too bad. But I also haven’t put in my Friday Walmart trip–that was a big one. Still, I have a system and now know where I am financially and where my current path is taking me.

2) Re-examine goal 4 of my year-long goals and figure out how I can incorporate limited technology time in my life

I didn’t do this one. I can’t quite make up my mind what I want to do about this. An internet free day? or maybe just social media free? Or set times every day? I think, in general I just need to have more self control about random internet surfing, pinteresting, blog reading, and buzzfeed quiz taking when I should be studying. So, for now, I’m putting this goal aside.

3) Pray and decide if and how I want to be a part of Campus Ministry next year.

Well, I applied and had my interview. I’m thinking I’ll probably just come back to the same position. But that’s okay with me I think. I’ve still got work to do.

4) Write 10 blog posts

Let’s see…darn it. I only wrote 7. But by tomorrow I should have 3 more  (including this goals one). That will also finish my 7 posts in 7 days (a blogging challenge hosted by Jen at Conversion Diary).

5) Continue reading just-for-fun books 🙂

Yep. It’s slow going but I did start Insurgent. So I’m going to call this one good.

Overall, I did pretty good. Not stellar but not too shabby either. Now, what does this month have in store?

 

March Goals

1) Set aside two hours a day for homework time and three hours on Saturday

I’ve been playing around with the idea and I think I just need to do it. Lately, I’ve fallen behind on readings and the like and it’s just not okay with me. I get so easily distracted, I procrastinate. But at the end of the day I love feeling like I’ve accomplished something. And when I don’t do my homework I don’t get that feeling. And I don’t get as much out of class. So, I propose two dedicated hours (I can adjust it to be longer or shorter if I deem necessary) a day for homework. When I say dedicated I mean locked in my room (or at work), not even a smidgen of social media, no laptop unless necessary for the homework itself dedicated. So 2 hours Monday-Friday and 3 hours on Saturday. They don’t have to be in a row but long stretches are better than short bursts for sure. And obviously if I get done with all my homework before I’m done, I can stop.

2) Finish Insurgent and start another book

I don’t think this will be hard especially if I take Insurgent home for break next week.

3) Set my 4 year plan

I need to talk to advisor and one of the honors program chairs to discuss the next 2 years of my life. I’m almost halfway done with college and I really just need to sit down and decide how this is going to go (at least I feel like I do).

4) Write 10 blog posts

Especially with break, I’m hoping I can make this goal in March though I didn’t in February.

5) Find a weekly or even daily cleaning time

This is one of my year-long goals but i really want to tackle it sooner rather than later. I’m definitely the messy one in my room and though I’ve generally been doing better about keeping my desk clean I haven’t been doing better keeping up with my dishes.

 

Check back in next month to see how I did!

One thought on “February Goals Review / New March Goals

Leave a Reply

