2013: Goals in Review

Normally, the end of the month would signal a review of the month’s goals and the setting new goals for the upcoming month. But this is New Year’s Eve…so it’s time for something a little bit more.

I’ll be saving my new year’s goals for tomorrow. But today it’s time to see how not only this month, but this year, has gone in terms of goals and other accomplishments.

December has been…well, not too bad actually.

Here were my goals for December:

1) Survive finals

Check!

2) Finish Rediscovering Catholicism

No…Again.

3)Work on Summer Internships–email archdiocese, pick 3-5 solid possibilities 

No. Not really.

4) Write a letter to my future self before Christmas

Um, well I didn’t write it before Christmas. But I wrote something (quickly and without much editing or rewriting).

5) Write at least one of the five essays I need to write over break.

I’m almost done with one of them and started on another. So I’m going to call this good.

6) Before I get home, make a list of things to do over break

I did do this actually.

 

Now onto this whole year…

1) donate blood.

Check! This was something I really wanted to do. And I did it back in April.

2) get my license.

Well…I have my test on Friday. So, not in 2013 technically. But I should be getting it soon and I’m excited! 🙂

3) write a letter to myself to open in the future.

(See above)

4) figure out how I can study/travel abroad.

This was a long process. Right as my summer started I was obsessed with studying abroad. I have 2 pinterest boards (one on travel and one exclusively on Ireland) that just go to show that yeah, I was crazy about the idea. But the realization came that other things might be more important. And that it would cost a lot of money. Eventually, slowly, I’ve set the idea aside and moved on. Also, at this point with what classes I want to take and the requirements of the Honors Program it’s just not going to work. All of this together makes this goal obsolete.

5) work on learning Spanish (unless I’ve chosen Italian).

I chose Spanish because I love it. I’ve gone through one challenging semester and will be starting semester 2 in a couple weeks.

6) create melted crayon art.

No, I never did this. I did some drawing with charcoal though.

7) go on a shopping adventure.

I did go shopping with one of my girlfriends from high school. We had a nice trip. I also went shopping over fall break and got some cute boots and a new top.

8) get a summer job.

Yes, I did thankfully find a summer job. It was interesting to see how my faith intersected with this secular workplace. Overall the 6 weeks I worked at that cafe were quite an experience.

9) take a summer class or 2. 

This follows along the same lines of #4. I was going to do it. But it wound up not being worth it. So my goals changed. Or rather, this smaller goal fell in line with larger goals of graduation etc.

10) read 5 new books.

Ha-ha. Last year I said this was “kind of a low number” for me. But I only read one book for fun/enrichment this year: “How to Find Your Soulmate Without Losing Your Soul”. I wrote a review for it too. I’m working through my second book but it’s slow going. I never have/make time at school for pleasure reading.

11) visit a religious community/ go on a retreat with one.

Didn’t do this. I did had a great conversation with a holy nun. That conversation led to this post about discernment.

12) write more.

I was speaking specifically of fiction writing. But that hasn’t really happened this year. But that’s ok. It’s not a big priority anymore.

13) be a better person.
a) pray more.

no comment.

b) be more diligent but don’t take things so seriously.

This is hard to tell. I think I’m still working on it.

c) laugh more, worry less.

Haha no. I worry all the time. But you know, I actually do manage to laugh things off.

This year has had its ups and downs. It’s crazy to think about. I’ve had some good ups and some really bad downs. But that is life. And God has led me through it all despite myself. This year has taught me about goals, especially how my priorities can change. Also, doing this review has shown me there will always be certain things I struggle with…at least for now.

A year ago when I made my goals I was full of high-minded ideas. Now, 365 days later I’m glad to say I’ve accomplished most of them and don’t feel too many regrets about those I didn’t accomplish.

Check back in tomorrow for my goals for 2014!

2 thoughts on “2013: Goals in Review

  1. You have to finish rediscovering Catholicism and allow you faith to be reignited. The funny thing though is that the only reason I have read it is because of transatlantic flights so maybe figure out that study abroad thing and the Rediscovering Catholicism will be a natural follow.

    • I really want to finish it! Only 100 pages left! It’s so true though, it’s so easy to read when you travel. I read a large chunk of How to Find Your Soulmate in just one day of plane travel. It’s so easy to read when you’re flying and have nothing else to do.

Leave a Reply

