My Summer Reading List

This summer I plan to do a bunch of reading. I brought back a suitcase full of books for the summer! Below are some that are on my potential reading list. Most of these are things I’ve been meaning to read and/or books I own and have never read. I might drop some or add others. We’ll see what happens. I plan to do a review of each one I read as part of a new series.

The list

  • How to Find Your Soulmate Without Losing Your Soul

    How to Find Your Soulmate Without Losing Your Soul–Jason and Crystalina Evert

If your a Catholic girl odds are you’ve either read this book and loved it or know someone who has. I was more or less in the latter category having heard lots about Soulmate. So I borrowed it from my friend Laura (who blogs over at My Drop in the Ocean by the way) and started reading it on my way home. I’m loving it. Essentially this book is about setting your standards high as a woman and keeping hopeful in your search for Mr. Right. It seems to be aimed mainly at girls who have been in bad relationships previously, but it’s got some useful tips for all single or searching ladies to consider.

Left to tell

  • Left to Tell–Immaculee Ilibagiza

This year, Immaculee visited my campus and gave a wonderful speech that was exceedingly well attended. I have her book which explains her amazing tale of survival during the Rwandan holocaust and forgiveness afterwards. She and others survived in a small bathroom for weeks before escaping. Immaculee lost many loved ones in the holocaust. This is her story.

  • Confessions of a Mega-Church Pastor–Alan HuntMega Church Pastor

This is another book from a speaker I saw at BC. Alan Hunt was once the pastor of Protestant mega-church, today he’s a devout Catholic and a speaker. He was a kind enough to give away copies of his book after his talk. Should be an interesting read. He gave a great talk and I always like conversion stories. Converts offer a unique perspective: unlike many of us they actively chose the Catholic faith. They saw something in it which us cradle-catholics might take for granted.

  • 51MzTGrKfcL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_The Freedom Writers Diary–the freedom writers

This book is the combined writings of a high school English class. Erin Gruwell was the teacher of these supposedly “unteachable” students. She defied that name and helped her class to succeed. All of them got into college. One of the tools Gruwell used was diaries. This book contains excerpts form those diaries as well as narrative by Gruwell herself. I watched the movie version of Freedom Writers this year and it was great. Hopefully this book doesn’t disappoint!

  • The Montessori Method–Maria Montessori

    410K3RB3oUL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-64,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

This is one of those of the books I’ve been thinking about reading lately. I’ve had some experiences in the last few moths with Montessori and I went to a Montessori school when I was little. As a future teacher, someonewho’d around kids, a Catholic, and numerous other things I figure I should read it. However, I don’t own this one. But of course, that’s what the library is for!

51mx6MRE+2L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

  • Our Lady of Kibeho–Immaculee Ilibagiza

This is another by Immaculee. I bought it when she gave her talk (and I got her to sign it!). It’s the story of a marian apparition in Africa. Should be great devotional reading.

51daCKS5MfL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

  • Saint Kateri: Lily of the Mohawks–Matthew and Margaret Bunson

This book has a story as to how it got into my possession. I had been eyeing it in the store on campus but never bought it. Then, I went to a Catholic gift shop with my mom and godmother and got to pick out my own birthday presents. And there I found this book. Though this is at towards the end of the list I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s one of the first I read after I finish Soulmate.

  • Other Possibilities:

  • “On the Dignity and Vocation of Women”–Pope John Paul II
  • …And You Are Christ’s–Thomas Dubay (reread)
  • Do Chocolate Lovers Have Sweeter Babies?–Jena Pincott
  • What to Expect When No One’s Expecting–Jonathan V. Last
  • A Father Who Keeps His Promises–Scott Hahn

One of my new year’s goals was to read 5 new books. My summer reading should help with this. I’ve read very little that wasn’t for school the last several months. Now I get to get back to reading solely for pleasure and personal enrichment. Like I said I might add, I might drop; we’ll see where the sumer leads.

If you have any suggestions for me to add to my reading list please leave a comment!

And don’t forget to check back soon for my first review!

*Please note that clicking on the picture of a book will take you to that book’s Amazon page, which is where I retrieved the pictures from.

6 thoughts on “My Summer Reading List

    • Thanks! Sounds like it to me too! I’m excited about this new series. And feel free to copy as much as you want! There’s some on here I think will be quite good reads.

Leave a Reply

